to V or not to V... - Cadillac V-Series - CTS-V, STS-V and XLR-V
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-27-2006, 07:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
to V or not to V...

Hey fellas, I'm a newbie so I'll be quick and wont waste your time...I've been looking to get a used CTS or possibley a CTS-V. I don't drive much since I have a 95 STS, that I bought used in 2000 with 17k on it, now it has 40k so you can see I have no use for a brand nerw Caddy. But my questions are simple and its hard to find reliable info on the web since all the reviews are either so one sided so I have come here.

Is the extra coin worth the V-veries?

I heard 03 CTS has problems with its rear diff, so should I look for 04 and newer?

I will have this vehicle for a long time and wont upgrade for newer models, it will be my daily driver, is the V too much power for this since I live in a rural setting?

How is the tranny on the V? does it deliver strong positive throws?

I am a tuner, I like to modify not just comestically but with performance as well. Is it worth buying a CTS-v as is, or getting a CTS and beefing it up instead?

Any suggestions or info would be helpful, I don't want to go in blind when I make the journey to the dealership

Thanks for your time,
~J
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-29-2006, 09:09 PM

i vote no.

the V is an awesome car, but your probably looking for some trouble buying used...its not 100%, but your taking a risk with the shitty diff cadillac refuses to fix it, and you said you want to mod it? a good uded V will cost you at least 32k...do you like C5 vettes(97-04')? those can go for about 20-25k used in great condition, just a suggestion..good luck
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-31-2006, 07:34 PM Thread Starter